Colin Kaepernick

Official Seahawks Forum, for the 12th man, by the 12th man.

Colin Kaepernick

Postby 12thHawkDawg » Fri May 26, 2017 10:53 am

Good morning Hawks Fans!

I want to rant about Colin Kaepernick...

I am an American vet, 12th Man and proud to stand with my right hand over my heart and sing the national anthem at Hawks games, or any event for that matter. If you are from some other country, I would respect your right not to acknowledge our national anthem. Colin Kaepernick is not from a foreign country, he was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin and is an American citizen. I do not respect his actions on the field.

Last season Colin decided not to stand during the playing of the Star-Spangled Banner. We all know his reasons, in particular the serious issue about the Black Lives Matter movement. Sure there are problems in America for people of color -- that is true. But I believe the NFL playing field is not the forum to hash-out such problems. As an NFL quarterback, Colin can get a TV, newspaper or social media interview at the drop of a quarter where he can truly express his opinions for all to hear.

NFL fans watch football for many different reasons. I personally think NFL fans don't watch football to hear about players personal or political views. Most of the NFL fans I know watch the game to help escape those issues. As a 12th Man, I love everything about the game -- the players, the coaching staff, the roar of the crowd, the cheerleaders, the action on the field. For 3.5 hours I forget about the drama of the outside world and have the time of my life yelling at the top of my lungs while the Hawks beat the 49ers!