Rebuilding The Hawks: Trade Metcalf?

Official Seahawks Forum, for the 12th man, by the 12th man.

Rebuilding The Hawks: Trade Metcalf?

Postby RiverDog » Wed Feb 14, 2024 11:58 am

Interesting article by Mike Salk of Brock and Salk. He's saying EXACTLY what I've been harping on for the past several years: Quit dumping resources into wide receivers and running backs. Trade DK Metcalf. Here's the guts of the article:

How did they (Chiefs) do it? By drastically limiting their expenses at the offensive skill positions.

New ESPN Radio morning host Evan Cohen had this observation following the game, posting this on X:

"I totally get the sentiment that the Chiefs won in a down year for them but I would argue they are built exactly the right way. HOF QB, HOF TE, elite defense. No $ spent on WR's / RB's. Perfectly done IMO."

He’s right. Essentially, the Chiefs built around their star quarterback by eschewing the traditional wisdom of finding him top-tier weaponry and instead spent their resources on the parts of the game he can’t affect: the defense and the offensive line. They counted on Mahomes’s skill to make the “pedestrian” skill position players better. Obviously, it worked.

The Seahawks are built very differently. They have spent their resources on the exact positions KC ignored. Both teams have the quarterback at the top of their spending list, but that’s where things change.

Offensively, the Seahawks are spending more than $40 million a year on their two starting receivers, not to mention used a first-round pick on Jaxon Smith-Njigba and two second-round selections on running backs. (Edit: And don't forget about our first pick in the 2021draft, Dee Eskridge) DK Metcalf and Tyler Lockett are the highest paid non-quarterbacks on the offensive side of the ball.

By contrast, the two most expensive Chiefs after Patrick Mahomes are guard Joe Thuney and tackle Jawaan Taylor. And they invested heavily on defense in the past two drafts.