School Shootings

Politics, Religion, Salsa Recipes, etc. Everything you shouldn't bring up at your Uncle's house.

School Shootings

Postby mykc14 » Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:01 am

Many of you have probably read about the most recent school shooting, this time in our own state. As a teacher my hear goes out to the victims of this sensless act of violence but also to the shooter a 14 year old who thought his only choice was to end his life and that of his close friends (early reports suggsest that he targeted a specific table of his friends) over an infatuation with a girl (again early reported motive was a girl who had recently turned him down). I got into education to make a difference in the lives of those I have taught and coached, but news like this is like a shot across my bow, causing me to re-evalute my role in the lives of our youth. I am challenged. Am I doing enough? I don't know but the question haunts me at night and days like today only make it worse. It is hard and different to grow up in todays society. The internet and social media in general are all areas that allow for students to be bullied or pressured differently than past generations. I don't know the answer but I feel overwhelmed. I know this is just an internet website created to discuss the Hawks (thanks Yoder, your the man!), but at the same time I feel like we have a unique set of individuals with all types of backgrounds, beliefs, and life situations. This is our future. What are we doing to protect it (not you guys specifically, but as a society in general, speaking of focus of schools, prevention of incidents, legislation, etc). I am just having a tough time with this and even though I don't post a ton you are like a 3rd or 4h family to me (first is my actual family at home, lovely wife and 3 amazing kids, 2nd is my community/close friends; again supper supportive and amazing. And then there is you guys/girls; an amazing group of individuals who have been brought together by our shared love